Description: The Trinidad and Tobago National Commission on Reparations (TTNCR) was established on the 6th February, 2014 as mandated by CARICOM to document the effects of European Genocide against the indigenous inhabitants of the slave trade in and the enslavement of Africans, and the colonization of the country. The TTNCR grew out of a series of state holder meetings. Following which cabinet appointed the membership of the TTNCR and Mr. Aiyegoro Ome was appointed the Chairman. It was at the CARICOM’s 34th Regular Meeting of the conference of Heads of Government in July 2013 held in Trinidad and Tobago that it was agreed that each CARICOM member state should establish its own National Committee on Reparations. Additionally, according to the CARICOM Regional Commission on Reparations, the National Committees on Reparations throughout the region would be provided with political oversight through a Committee under the direction of the Prime Minister of Barbados Mr. Freundel Stuart. The principal aims and objectives of the CARICOM Reparations Commission were first proposed at the first Regional Conference on Reparation held in Kingstown, St. Vincent and the Grenadines. The Committee is made up of the following members: Committee Member Organisation Mr. Aiyegoro Ome Advisor to Ambassador Makandal Daaga and Chairman of the Reparations Committee - Ministry of Foreign Affairs H.E. Sir Edwin Carrington Ambassador of Trinidad and Tobago to the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Ms. Avril Belfon National Archives of Trinidad and Tobago Mr. Khafra Kambon Emancipation Support Committee Ms Tiffany Bethel Researcher - Office of the PM Mr. Naim Mohammed Ministry of the Attorney General Dr. Sharon Le Gall Attorney / Lecturer - University of the West Indies (UWI) Mrs. Theresa Neblett-Skinner Ministry of Education – Curriculum Coordinator Mr. Ricardo B. Hernandez Santa Rosa First Peoples Ms. Nelcia Robinson Santa Rosa First Peoples Mr. Clyde Noel All Mansion of Rastafari Mr. Der One Piankhi Council of Orisa Elders Mr. Andy Johnson CEO - Government Information Services Ltd Mr. Damian Richardson Ministry of Arts and Multiculturalism Mr. Anthony Birchwood Lecturer - University of the West Indies (UWI) Ms. Lucia Phillip National Library and Information System Authority Ms. Marguerite Moore Director - Heritage Library NALIS Dr. Fazal Ali University of Trinidad and Tobago Dr. Hollis Liverpool University of Trinidad and Tobago Mr. Claudius Fergus Head, History Department U.W.I
And a whole lot more: Available